Priceless Dreams – A Personal Response Piece

Related image

I KNOW WHERE THIS PICTURE IS FROM BUT IT GOES WITH MY POST SO WHATEVER

Creative Personal Response from Late Nights On Air by Elizabeth Hay and the prompt, ‘What do these texts suggest about the impact of an individual’s ambition on self and others?


I think she knows it. I think she knows exactly how good she is.”

The two were walking down the halls of the office building when he gave a dissatisfied grunt. “Well, I don’t know about that.” He took a moment to ponder before turning to face the girl to his left with a smirk. “It’s just as easy to get ahead of oneself as it is to make assumptions about others, Clara.”

His assistant stopped in her tracks to glare at her boss as he continued to walk, only to turn around when noticing the lack of her presence.

William. Tell me you’ve sensed that too, I know you have! She’s drowning in her own ego and I really don’t think she is right for this company. We have standards to hold up to, you know. “

William continued to stare blankly at Mrs. Holmes before continuing towards his office once again, she following close behind. As he made his way employees would greet him constantly, left and right, out of both obligation and respect for this man that was the head of their company.

Opening the transparent glass doors William reached his mahogany desk at the end of the room and sat down, while the sound of his assistant walking in filled the vast room. The CEO reached for his fountain pen and took out papers, beginning to fill them out in an attempt to distract himself.

“Sir… Sir?” He made no answer and Mrs. Holmes tapped her foot impatiently.

Sir,” silence continued to fill the air as the assistant rolled her eyes indignantly, “since you clearly have nothing to say, I will say something for you.

“Angelica De Wilde is a woman who is perfectly sure of her capabilities and not afraid to show it; she opens her mouth too easily as if she doesn’t realize there is, in fact, a hierarchy system at this company. It’s in due timing that one day she will open her mouth and say something that will damage this whole business – a business we began back in 2022, may I remind you. I and many others agree she isn’t worth the risk.”

William drops the pen down with a sigh before looking up to Clara, his eyes flitting back and forth between her own. “That’s something I like to call ambitious, Mrs. Holmes. She isn’t afraid to speak her mind because she knows what she wants in life and will do anything to get it.” William lets out a cynical laugh. “Just because jealously is overtaking you doesn’t mean…”

“Just because you have a soft spot for her doesn’t -“

William’s fists banged on the desk as he stood up from his chair. “Enough! Clara, I will not take this treatment for another employee nor will I take these heinous accusations. If you are going to continue with this behavior, you know I’ll have to consider firing you.”

“But I’m your sister!” Clara lets out with an unconvinced laugh, angering William even further.

Not in the workplace you’re not!

The siblings maintained eye contact, while holding their bodies with the utmost self-confidence to deter the other. William quirked his eyebrow and Clara finally let out out a defeated sigh. Turning sharply on her heels, she strutted out of the office with the doors slowly receding closed once again.

Silence was deafening as William turned around to face the windows, which stretched from the floors straight to the ceiling. He contemplated the situation at hand while his eyes sifted through the city sights. Taking note of Peace River Flats on the left and Willow Flats on the right, the sunset shined down on the grasses blowing in the wind and gave it an orange and sullen tint.

In recent years, more and more skyscrapers were built in William’s hometown of Yellowknife. It was a stark contrast to how it was many years ago, back in 2017. The few buildings near the horizon were showered in darkness as the light transcended away from them: the largest towering skyscraper, William’s company, continued to be splashed in light. Before he would know it, the dark would engulf his building soon enough.

William ran his hands down the arms of the leather chair to feel it’s cold material, and the smell of Lysol in his freshly cleaned office brought him back to the reality of where he was.

…He was going to have to do this, wasn’t he?

With a sigh William reached out to his desktop phone and pressed the button to signal the receptionist.

“Tell Angelica De Wilde to come to my office, please.”


The man sat facing his employee as his pen tapped repeatedly on the small pile of papers sitting on his desk, eyes trained on her face as his mind blanked. She stared at her boss, eyebrows furrowed, before looking down at her hands in her lap and decided to break the silence.

“May I ask why I’m here, sir?”

William blinked repeatedly as he replied, “…Sorry?”

“We’ve been sitting here for at least ten minutes, sir.”

“Oh! Of course, well… I don’t really know actually.” William shrugged his shoulders, sitting back in his chair, before continuing. “I felt as though I had to do this.”

“I- I don’t understand.”

The CEO folded his hands together on the desk. “Ms. De Wilde, why did you apply for this company? Of course, there are plenty of others in this vicinity… Why ours?”

“I knew this company had big things ahead of it – I knew it would continue to become what it is today. The staff that was already established, including you Mr. Lane, was proven to be-“

“No, I’m not asking for more flattery.” William smiled to convey good intentions. “Why did you want to choose this company?”

Angelica couldn’t help but smile in relief. “I’ve wanted this all my life: a workplace where I know I can succeed and where my ambitions will take flight… I want big things for my future and so do my parents, Mr. Lane. I can’t let them down – won’t let them down. I’ve worked too hard thus far and, even if my intentions come off as too strong, I won’t let my chances diminish.”

“I’ve received complaints on your behavior, Ms. De Wilde, and some people don’t completely agree with your passionate ambitions. Asking you to cease speaking your mind and tone down your various ideas or inputs is something-“

“Something you are going to do right now?”

Shaking his head with a smile William voiced, “Something I won’t do right now. In fact, I don’t ever plan to.

“Your ambitions are what make you who you are. Who am I to take that away? They may have negative effects on those around you but… Those who understand you truly see the kindness hidden in your intentions. Try to be a little more sensitive, if you will, but don’t give up. They’ll see the reasons behind what you do in no time.”

“Why are you being so nice about this? Surely I don’t deserve it.”

“You remind me of me,” he shrugged, “I know what it’s like, look where I am now. Being a successful CEO doesn’t just come overnight.”

He cleared his throat before deciding to switch subjects. “You see, the person who is concerned I shall not name but… I feel as though may need some guidance. Their intentions are much like yours – being for the benefit of their career – and I would like for you to-“

Angelica interrupted once again, “It’s Clara, isn’t it?”

William, caught off guard, let out an outrageous laugh. “I’ll give no things away. I would like you to teach,” he paused for a moment, “them that it’s okay to speak up sometimes… But you didn’t hear this from me.”

“Mr. Lane, you don’t know how much I appreciate all this, it’s an honor to be accepted this way. I will make sure to do what you ask.” Angelica giggled. “Thank you.”

Her smile was beaming as she got up out of the adjacent chair, her hand extending to shake with his. William himself stood up, hands in his pockets, and studied her face once again.

He took his hands out before linking it with hers. “No, thank you.”


Photo Creds: http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/20/259A628200000578-2961801-image-m-35_1424450412331.jpg


*BONUS for making it this far!*


   “Just because you have a soft spot for her doesn’t -“

William’s laugh rang out in the office as the pen in his fingers twiddled around.

“Soft spot,” he whispered to himself, “Please. I’m the CEO!”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *