Mon Amour…

Mon Amour

The slow pitter patter of rain against the glass’s surface lulls me back into the memories I so desperately wish to forget. In the glimmering glints of the rain drops, I see each memory unfold one by one as both pleasure and panic unite. 

I once again feel the pleasure of his lips against mine, our hearts beating in perfect harmony and sync…

I also feel the panic – absolute panic of taking pleasure in the actions I have made against my husband, and how difficult I find it to look into his eyes filled with that never ending love…

His eyes also hold visions of a shattering glass heart, bringing my eyes to the gem on the ring of my left hand. I hear the whisper of the vows and endless promises I have made but broken and see the fragile heart my husband holds within… Never had I realized that the shattering heart would be at my own hands.

I blink as my vision refocuses on the rain drops that stick to the window. The water particles no longer entangle and clash with the fresh falling rain as I realize the dark and ominous clouds have passed over. I place my hand upon the cold glass while sun rays shine on my skin… I feel its warmth. The droplets continue to sparkle and shine.

Then suddenly, the feeling of my husbands arms around my waist snaps me back to reality – harsh and blinding reality of how I must face the actions of my past, of what I must do to protect myself.

I should regret…

But I do not. 

I spin around in his secure arms and focus my vision in between his eyes to avoid the visions of shattering glass hearts, of silent words in my ears and of the truth that bubbles in my throat. I don’t let the words fall out, but only say the words I know he so desperately wants to hear.

“Welcome home… mon amour.”


Photo Creds: http://data.whicdn.com/images/251746364/large.jpg

This piece was created during class during the “Deep Secrets” prompt – “I kissed a boy I know I shouldn’t have.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *