Jackleen

Based off of: May I Feel Said He by E. E. Cummings


 

We’re breaking said she

I’m aching said he

I’ll come back said she

Oh Jackleen said he

I’m leaving said she

You’ve left me grieving said he

You’ll live said she

It’s hard to forgive said he

I hear your plea said she

Talk to me said he

I can’t said she

But your transplant… said he

That’s enough said she

Wake up said he

I’ll always love you said she

Oh God above said he

You’re breaking said she

You must’ve been aching said he

I’m losing our chat line said sh–

…There’s that flatline said he


Where are you now? said he

But our vows said he

Please come back said he

Oh Jackleen said he


May I Feel Said He is a poem I have admired from the moment my eyes came upon it… And not only because Tom Hiddleston was reading it to me! (In an audio of course!)

What can instantly throw someone off is the repeated occurrence of the words “he said” and “she said”. In the feedback from my friends it was often brought to my attention that they felt it was too much.  It was only when I pointed out that it was based off a poem by E.E Cummings they realized why I made this choice. However, I’d also love to dig deeper into the reasons as to why I love the idea of this poem so much.

It is so simple, yet so beautiful in the way it presents a love story so complicated. The situation illustrated in the poem is one where talking is limited, and doesn’t leave much opportunity for long sentences. He said, she said is a perfect way to display the circumstance at hand. I may also add that I feel the rhyme scheme ties it all together. Rhyming to me gives a poem a smooth feeling, and almost draws you in. It makes you “awe” and smile with joy when the words fit together like puzzle pieces. This is precisely why May I Feel Said He is a poem that inspired me to write my own version.

I had originally started the poem as a story of a breakup, and the feelings that transpire in result of it. As I started to read over my progress, I took notice that the conversation felt almost one sided… As if the man wouldn’t acknowledge the woman’s answer. It then came to my mind as a picture of a man desperate for his wife (in a coma) to wake up, as she is desperate to have him know that she isn’t gone yet but things will be okay in the end.

I wanted to write a story about undying love, even through all the death that plagues it.


GIF Creds:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/ae/4f/bf/ae4fbfe960742dc0b9ff2e0b98e3681f.jpg and editing by me.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Jackleen

  1. Elissa,

    OH MY GOD! I LOVE THIS SO MUCH, YOU DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND.

    I actually don’t even know where to start… I’ve got so much to say!

    I think you and I are alike in the sense that we both appreciate simplicity. I personally love the repetition of “He said” and “She said” I think the complexity of the love story itself compensates for the simple language. Plus, when language is simpler, more people can more easily relate to a piece.

    I also think the rhymes were effective. Sometimes when people rhyme, it can sound very juvenile and elementary-school. But you did it well. It enhances the flow of the piece and it makes it memorable (people are more likely to remember things when rhyme is involved)

    And Oh my gosh! The lines:

    “You’re breaking said she

    You must’ve been aching said he

    I’m losing our chat line said sh–

    …There’s that flatline said he”

    I love that this part can be open to interpraation. Is this really about chat line? Or is it about death? Or maybe it can be interpreted as the pain the comes with a broken heart. Of course, you have explained your own interpretation, but that fact that it can have dual (even triple) meaning proves that your poetry is capable of making people think.

    The only thing I would suggest is reworking the third and fourth stanzas–they seemed a little awkward compared to the rest. A bit irrelevant. You could even cut them out altogether, and the piece would still flow well.

    LOVELY TO READ THIS. Thank you for sharing!

    Never stop writing,
    Jade

    1. Dear Jade,

      Thank you so much darling!! <3

      I think the simplicity is what drew me in to the poem the first time I read it! It perfectly balances out the complexity of their relationship. We are very alike in our feelings on the original piece 🙂

      I appreciate all your compliments on this work and am so thankful. I'm also very glad that you were able to come up with your own interpretation! It helps me to think of more possibilities and wonder in new ideas, even as the writer.

      Lastly, thank you so much for the criticism! I see perfectly what you mean, and took it as an opportunity to change things up a little bit. This just helped to, hopefully, make my piece even stronger!

      Lovely to read your comment! I'll say it again– Thank you !!!

      Love,
      Elissa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *